50 High Street
Photos of shops in Station Road - including Samuels the butcher - which later became the offices of Taylors Services.
The present red-brick shop was built on the site of charming cottages about 1900. In 1912 it was an unemployment office and, in 1920, the licensee of the Railway Inn rented it as a wet fish shop. Samuels the butchers took this shop over in 1936 and ran it until 2000. It is now (2018) Taylors building business.
Photo from 2000 showing Clarke's and Rose's fish and chip shop (in 2020 Mario's) in Station Road. The dwelling, 1 Station Road, used to be called Harbour Cottage and it had an outside privy which has since become part of Taylor's yard. The old maps show this naem and, in 1910, this was shown as 616 owned by John Fowler, occupied by Henry Nelms. The significance of the name is unknown.